Benches in the Bedroom

In addition to a tufted headboard, I’d like my redecorated bedroom to feature a bench at the end of the bed. Our bedroom is quite large and there is plenty of space. Plus, I always thought they looked like the perfect cozy spot to sit and put on shoes (or, they can travel into other rooms for additional seating!)

The question is which:

As you can likely see, I’m into the idea of fun accent fabric on this bench. Given the relative size and positioning in the room, I think this is the perfect place to go a little crazy. Plus, crazy hides stains, right?

About Helena

Helena lives in Chicago with her boyfriend and two cats. Her boyfriend thinks she's awesome. Her cats agree.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in My Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. We lived in a house once where the master bedroom was large enough to do that. We didn’t have a beautiful bench like the ones you show above, but we had an old cedar chest. It was the most useful place to put stuff and to sit on while dressing. I miss having it there.

    You’ll love having a bench at the foot of the bed. I’m jealous already! 🙂

  2. At the end of my bed in my parents’, I have my grandmother’s antique chest (a hope chest, if you will). It’s wonderful for sitting on, and a fantastic storage place. If you’re ever running out of storage (or need somewhere to put sweaters/winter gear in), I highly recommend a chest.

    Otherwise, I definitely like the benches with small arms, and dislike the x-benches, as they look very IKEA-ish. Not that there’s anything wrong with that…

  3. We also have a chest at the foot of our bed, and we do the funky fabric thing by switching out the quilts that we keep folded on it.

    I think of the ones you posted, the “classic legs/funky fabric” are my favorites, so definitely post a picture once you decide 🙂

Leave a Reply

