Tufted Headboards: Me Likey

I have a new obsession for the bedroom.

No, not like that.

It looks like a new bed is in the upcoming plans chez moi. While I love Will with all my heart, sharing a full-size bed is starting to make me very aware of how little space I have to stretch out. Upgrade time.

I love the idea of lounging against the headboard and reading on a lazy weekend.

Luckily, Will and I share a certain aesthetic and I think I’ve sold him on the tufted headboard idea. Granted, we are very likely to have a more rectangular one than a scalloped, embellished model.

Fabric is still to-be-determined. Our current bedroom color scheme is mostly grey, but I’m leaning towards a bright teal color for the new headboard. This will likely come as news to Will as he reads this – I think I mentioned brown or a houndstooth last time we talked…

Anyone have a tufted headboard? Thoughts on mattress size when it’s double occupancy?

 

About Helena

Helena lives in Chicago with her boyfriend and two cats. Her boyfriend thinks she's awesome. Her cats agree.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in My Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Kyle and I are suffering in our full size bed. Two humans, two cats, and four pillows…way too much! We’ve definitely bopped each other a couple of times, or kicked a cat off the end of the bed.

    We’re upgrading to queen (our Christmas present to each other/ourselves) later in the year, because we like hanging out in our bedroom too much to give anymore space over to a bed. King just seems massive.

    I like the idea of the fabric covered headboard, especially since we currently have no headboard, but I think the cats would have it looking shabby in no time. I’m still working to convince K that we need an actual headboard at all 🙂

  2. Mike and I have had a queen since we got married, and I think it’s the perfect size. We slept in a king at a hotel once and it was too giant–we like to be close! But the queen has enough space when we need to be separate (like when it’s 100 degrees in Chicago–we have no A/C!).

  1. Pingback: Benches in the Bedroom « Bye Bye, Bitters

Leave a Reply

