Covet: Fresh Flowers

As we know, I’m a shelter blog/magazine enthusiast. While certain interiors are purely aspirational, there’s one thing all shots-of-perfectly-decorated-rooms have in common: fresh flowers. Isn’t it amazing what a vase of peonies can do to a room? The sunny weather has me craving bouquets.

In search of floral inspiration, I came across The Green Dandelion. Sarah, the flower-arranging mastermind, lives in Portland (one of my favorite cities ever). Look at this loveliness:

Up until, oh, five minutes before stumbling upon this blog, I would have told you that I didn’t like white flowers. Sure, they provide texture, but I want color! Clearly, I was completely wrong. Dead wrong.

Sarah’s friend Rachael was also playing with flowers during that photoshoot.  Look at these “living” earings made out of lichen!

(Sidenote: not sure which lovely lady is the model in this photo, but oh my word, those eyes!)

During the Summer, my favorite source for fresh flowers is the local Chicago Farmers Markets. It’s early still, but later in the season there are booths awash in all manner of botanicals. I tend to gravitate towards bouquets comprised all of one kind of flower, but now I’m inspired to be more bold and play around with mixing and matching. I want to try monochromatic arrangements (for texture) and using non-standard materials (twigs, branches).

Results to follow.

About Helena

Helena lives in Chicago with her boyfriend and two cats. Her boyfriend thinks she's awesome. Her cats agree.

Posted on June 22, 2011, in My Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. pretttyyyyyy. any time ranunculus is involved, i’m on board!

  2. I need to get a damn vase!

    • I have about 45. When will I see you next? If you don’t mind one of those standard clear glass ones that comes with flowers when your little sister sends you a bouquet for your birthday, I have one with your name on it.

  3. thank you so much! what a lovely post! I am doing another all white bouquet for a shoot this weekend… stay tuned 🙂

  4. I’m not normally a fan of white flowers either but that second bouquet is faboo! Are you in Chicago? My fiance lived there for 2 years, I went to visit all the time. If you live there, you’re so lucky!

  5. Those earrings are neat!

Leave a Reply

