Don’t Die on That Hill

I learned a new phrase recently and I’ve been wearing it out.

 “Don’t Die on That Hill”

Quick Back-Story: I’ve always been into baby names – I love reading about what goes into that pivotal parental decision. As a kid, I had a well-worn copy of Beyond Jennifer and Jason. Now, I check site such as Name Candy where I’m a regular reader of the Name Lady’s advice column. Recently, a new-grandmother wrote in about how she “disagreed” with the pronunciation of her new granddaughter’s name – she said “Aida” / daughter-in-law said “Ida.” Who was correct?

Clearly, the mother of the child (“Ida”) wins out. This was obvious to everyone who commented on the column that day. Commenters went further to warn the grandmother about straining her relationship with her daughter-in-law. One warned her, “don’t die on that hill!”

I’ve never heard that phrase before, but I love it. It reminded me of one of my mother’s choice phrase, “choose your battles.” In short, life is short. While you can’t control the actions of others, you have full control over your response.

Angry with someone? Completely natural. Respond in anger? Only if the issue at hand is worthy.

Plus, the phrase lends itself to such a lovely visual. I can see the general items about which people argue as “hills” and us all as little travellers (as depicted above).

I have certain issues about which I’ve vowed never to fight. I won’t die on those hills. To extend the metaphor, I’ll keep climbing until I’ve crested the hill and reached the descent on the other side.

About Helena

Helena lives in Chicago with her boyfriend and two cats. Her boyfriend thinks she's awesome. Her cats agree.

Posted on April 13, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

