I am not a Dork

I have a subscription to Elle Decor.  I regularly read House Beautiful. I save West Elm catalogs to read as though they were magazines. I follow several home-decorating blogs and Twitter accounts. Basically, I’m a lover of all things interior design. It wasn’t always this way. It started last summer, shortly after purchasing my condo. I’ve lived in apartments for years, but now I can paint the walls! I’ve discussed moving a wall! I’m planning on completely re-doing the bathroom! It’s mine, and I want it to be beautiful.

When I say that I “read” home decor magazines, I mean that I study them like text books. I pour over every page to determine not only if I like a certain design but why. I then interrupt whatever my boyfriend is doing to point out couch cushions, paint colors, and gallery walls using terms like “organic form” and “diamond tufting.” (He’s a good sport). Afterward, the photograph inspiring the interruption is ripped from the magazine or catalog and glued into a notebook where I store my “inspiration.” Once the glue dries, I scribble an explanation of what exactly I like about the photo.

Generally, if I was to meet you in person and tell you about this hobby/obsession, I’d preface the discussion with, “I’m a dork.”

Stop.

Think.

Why am I so ready to put myself down? Having interests doesn’t make someone a “dork” – it makes them interesting.

I’m not a dork. I’m a woman of many interests.

About Helena

Helena lives in Chicago with her boyfriend and two cats. Her boyfriend thinks she's awesome. Her cats agree.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in My Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I proudly call myself a dork. I don’t see it as putting myself down – though I prefer the term ‘geek’. 🙂

    • Oh yeah, it’s definitely not ALWAYS a put-down. I mention it because I do use it in that way (self-depreciating) when describing some of my interests.

  2. I don’t see “dork” as a put-down, necessarily. I mean, it can certainly be said in a mean or cruel fashion, but I often use it in a jokey-loving sort of way.

    Actually, though, I would say you’re a design nerd or geek. And neither of those is a bad thing, IMHO — it means you have a deep interest in/love for the subject.

    But of course, if you saying “I’m a dork” is a way of apologizing for being interested in it — then by all means stop saying it. Because nobody should have to apologize for their interests. (Well. Within reason.)

    • Ha, it’s funny to me that “dork”/ “nerd/ “geek” all have different connotations. I was thinking about Lindsay’s comment above (where she mentioned a preference for “geek”) – I have a preference for “nerd”. Either way, I need to stop using it as an apology for my ecclectric interests, as you mention.

      • Matthew has an xkcd panel on his yelp profile that basically says that the only people who care about the distinction between nerd and geek are…. the nerds and geeks. 🙂

  3. I think sometimes when we feel that we are so passionate about something about which other people don’t really care, we tend to qualify that with the “I’m a dork” phrase. I do it too. But you’re right! That’s just one thing that makes you YOU, and an interesting person with hobbies. If that means being a dork, then I’m right there with you. Only my dorkiness is in a different area.

  4. Elizabeth Young

    There is nothing wrong with “being a dork”. Only those who have no passion see it as a negative thing. Embrace it and love it!

  1. Pingback: Covet: Fresh Flowers « Bye Bye, Bitters

  2. Pingback: An Open Letter « Bye Bye, Bitters

Leave a Reply

